THE ATTACKS OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2001by Lauren Tarshis

I survived

This year marks the 11th anniversary of 9/11. For many of us, the last thing we want is to revisit the day of September 11, 2001, in New York City. As the school year opens, many of us in the education field across the United States, may feel the same way. But as one educator so aptly put it “we need to go down the hole of one of history’s darkest days in order to come up with some light to shed on it for our students this September.”

In 2001, some of our students were not even born yet and know very little about the day’s events. Even though it is a ‘current event’ for us as adults, it is ‘history’ for them.” For those of us in the field of education, September 11 may still be a raw experience, whereas for our students, it’s not even a memory. But regardless, we are the ones in position to preserve this part of history for them.

Here at Rodolfo Centeno Elementary, we tried to think about how to bridge teachers’ personal experiences with September 11 with students’ understanding of the event. To commemorate the day of September 11, we will be hosting Remembering 9/11: Tell your story. How did you witness history on September 11, 2001? What do you most remember and how has it affected your life? As role models, help us preserve this historic event by sharing your experience with our 5th grade students who have just finished reading and reflecting on I Survived: the Attacks of September 11, 2001 by Lauren Tarshis.

55 thoughts on “THE ATTACKS OF SEPTEMBER 11, 2001by Lauren Tarshis

  1. In my reading class I just finished reading Lauren Tarshis’ book
    of I Survived:The Attacks of September 11,2001. I think you should read this book because it has alot of characters that show bravery. Bravery was one of the themes in this novel. Lucas and his dad assisted first responders by helping people out of the towers. They showed bravery by risking their lives. I learned not to give up on hope just like Lucas. r.mata rm. 27 age 11

  2. In reading class,I just finished reading I Survived: The Attacks of September 11, 2001 book. It was one of the best books I have ever read. Personally my favorite part of the book was when dad found Lucas. I think Lauren Tarshis did a great job writing this book. I feel so sorry for all the men and women trapped inside the tower and the firemen who never made it out. I did not know that people could be so brutal. I would recommend this book to someone who wants to know more about this topic. It will take you on a rollarcoster of emotions.
    Y.Rocha age 11 room 27

  3. I just read I Survived: The Attacks of September 11 2001. It was so tragic when the towers fell. I was so sad when that plane hit the towers. I am so sorry about all those peopole that died. I still can’t believe that a person could be as brutal as the terrorists were. The lesson I learned was to never give up.

    Estevan G. age 11 rm 27

  4. In Mrs.Castaneda’s class, I just finished reading the novel I Survived:The Attacks of September 11,2001 by Lauren Tarshis. When I finished reading this book, I experienced different emotions. It made me wonder how many other attacks would happen to America. I felt horror at the scene of the Twin Towers falling and having no idea if Uncle Benny escaped the tower as it collasped. If you want to learn more, check it out at the Centeno Elementary Library.

    E.Robles age 11 rm 23

  5. In 5th grade,i just read the book called I survive:the attacks of september,11,2001 i feel so sad for all the people in the tower
    that died. my favorite part was when lucas found out that uncle benny was safe.i still cant believe that happened.im just so angry with the ones who did it.so if you want to read go check it out at centeno elementary library i really recommend it.its my favorite book i always read it

    connie.d rm 23 age 10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *