Learn more about the Holocaust

If you have read Someone Named Eva by Joan Wolf and you would like to learn more about this time in history or read more stories like this, then you may want to check out these other titles in your library.

Create your own video slideshow at animoto.com.

Hitler Youth:Growing up in Hitler’s Shadow by Susan Campbell Bartoletti
Yellow Star by Jennifer Roy
The Flag with Fifty-six Stars:A Gift from the Surviviors of Mauthausen by Susan Goldman Rubin
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
A Picture Book of Anne Frank by David A. Adler
Always Remember Me:How One Family Survivied World War II by Marisabina Russo
Anna Is Still Here by Ida Vos
One Thousand Tracings:Healing the Wounds of World War II by Lita Judge
Hidden Child by Isaac Millman
Why?: The War Years by Tomie DePaola
Baseball Saved Us by Ken Mochizuki
Boxes for Katje by Candice Fleming
The Yellow Star:the legend of King Christian X of Denmark by Carmen Agra Deedy

9 thoughts on “Learn more about the Holocaust

  1. Pingback: A Match Made in High School « READINGPOWER

  2. In reading class, I just finished reading a novel called Someone Named Eva. I learned from this novel that you need to respect other people.You need to be nice to other people because whatever you do bad you will recieve it back.Joan Wolf did a good job on this book because you do not have the rights to kill any kind of people.

    K.Jasso, age 10, RM 34

  3. In Ms. Castaneda’s fifth grade class, we just finshed the book Someone Named Eva. Hitler should’nt have treated the Jews the way he did. They were people,too,just like us. The lesson I learned was that you shouldn’t treat people the way you wouldn’t want to be treated. My favorite part of the novel was when the mom and Eva join together after all those years. Thanks to the author, I got to learn about World War II and about the Holocaust. M.B,Age11, RM34

  4. We have just finished the book Someone Named Eva by Joan Wolf. I learned that you will be loved by other families. It was also sad because Milada’s brother, dad, and grandma got killed . I wouldn’t have survived without my family. M.G, age 11 , room .39

  5. In Mrs.Gutierrez’s Reading class we read a book called Someone Named Eva by Joan M. Wolf. It was a sad story for me. I felt sad about Milada and about her family. Can you imagine being beat up if you did’t speak German? Milada goes through a lot of hard times in the story. I wouldn’t like it if I was taken away from my family for such a long time. I recommend this book because it tells about events that happend during the time of the Holocaust.
    Esmeralda P., age11, Room 36

  6. Let me tell you what I thought about the book Someone Named Eva. I thought it was very tragic when they took Milada away from her family. Also, it was so amazing that Eva kept her grandmother’s pin the whole three years she was away, that was very sweet. B. Lira, age 11, room 40

  7. When my classmates and I started to read this book I thought it was going to be boring, but soon we found out it was amazing! I give credit to the author, Joan M. Wolf, who did a wonderful job keeping us interested!
    S.m , age 12 , room 36

  8. I really liked this book because it has a of historical parts. My favorite part was when Milada found her mother. I felt happy for her. After 3 years without her mom, she was finally reunited with her. It was a good book, but sad too. I recommend this book to everyone out there. The author did a great job keeping the readers hooked on it.
    R. Medina, age 11, room 36

  9. In my reading class, I read a glooming book named Someone Named Eva. It was very good. The author did a wonderful job in making this book interesting. I felt very sad when they took Milada away from her family. If I was living through her life, I would be very furious, but scared and sad at the same time because I wouldn’t be able to do anything. This novel really touched my heart. I felt very sorry for the Jews. Especially when the Nazis thought they were no better than rats. This is a very sad, yet interesting book. The best part for me was when Milada was reunited with her real mom. After all the hard things she went through, she got back with her. I really hope you get to read this book. It will touch your heart.
    F. Ramos, age 11, Rm 36

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *